Interview with my client Linda

30 Jan 

Written By Siobhan Bradfield

Let me introduce you to my client Linda and her sustainable petite clothing brand Chocolat Couture. I have recently worked with Linda – a very kind person and dream client of mine!

I connected with Linda through Vicki my friend, colleague and recently freelance coach.

Working closely with Linda on the print was really fun – her inspiration for the print was the Glacier National Park. It turned out to be such a beautiful print with shades of blue, marble textures and gold elements.

What I really appreciate and find totally amazing about Linda’s collection is that she puts so much effort into every detail.

Making a print for her small brand and first collection, was a great experience and I am so excited how the print will turn out and can’t wait until the first collection of Chocolat Couture will launch.
Meet Linda from Chocolat Couture 🙂

Siobhan:

Linda, as it was so exciting to work with you and get a feeling what your collection is about – I loved making a print design for you. I feel that your brand and your first collection is very important to you. Can you tell us a little bit more about your brand Chocolat Couture, the concept and inspiration behind it?


Linda:

Thank you for your kind words, Siobhan! Working with you was a pleasure too!

Chocolat Couture has a special meaning to me that goes beyond just a brand name. It represents the emotional connection that chocolate can bring to our lives. I was inspired by the sense of belonging and connection I felt during my early career when my mentors and I shared chocolates during team meetings.


My goal with Chocolat Couture is to offer sustainable, high-quality clothing that promotes confidence and comfort to petite women who struggle to find clothing that fits their unique frames. I believe that building confidence is important and can be achieved by learning and gaining new perspectives. Personally, traveling has been a transformative experience that has sparked my creativity and imagination. That’s why I’ve decided to focus on resort wear for my brand.


I am excited to incorporate unique textures and details into my designs and grateful to have found your design style that perfectly aligns with my vision. Thank you for being a part of this exciting journey!

Siobhan:

Can you tell us a little bit more about the process behind your first collection? And how you choose which garments to include? Was it clear from the beginning or was it hard to decide what to include?

Linda:

Our first collection is made up of three garments, a dress, a top, and pants, all designed to create a versatile and sustainable capsule travel wardrobe. We wanted to create garments that were not only stylish and comfortable but also sustainable, and this meant spending a lot of time researching fabrics, trims, and colors.


To be honest, I didn’t have a clear plan from the beginning. I knew I wanted to include a dress, but I was unsure about the other garments to include. Through research and feedback, I learned that people tend to buy more tops than dresses, which is why we decided to include a top and pants that could be mixed and matched with the dress to create a range of outfits.


Choosing which garments to include was a challenge as I wanted to strike a balance between style, versatility, and sustainability. With the help of my sister and your guidance and Vicki’s advice on textile prints and Tech Packs, we were able to refine our designs and create a versatile travel wardrobe that can be used in different settings.


I believe that collaboration is key, and I am grateful for the support and feedback that I received throughout the process. It has been an exciting journey, and I am proud of what we have achieved with our first collection.

Siobhan:

Linda, as I am so excited about the launch of your first collection and can’t wait to see how they will look in real life -When will the launch of your first collection be? And how do customers sign up for the presale?


Linda:

Thank you so much for asking, Siobhan! I’m beyond excited for the launch of my first collection as well. Currently, we’re in the sampling and fit sessions phase, and we are launching in Spring 2024.


To stay informed, you can visit our website at http://www.chocolatcouture.studio and sign up for our newsletter. By subscribing to our email list, you will receive exclusive offers and updates on our collection, as well as a free online clothing shopping guide. This guide is filled with helpful tips on identifying high-quality clothing and avoiding red flags when shopping online.


In addition to our newsletter, you can also follow us on social media platforms such as Instagram and Pinterest at @chocolatcouture_. We enjoy engaging with our followers and sharing behind-the-scenes of our creative process and sustainability efforts. Thank you for your support!

Siobhan:

I know you are so excited about your first collection – what are your future plans – Is there already a second collection planned?


Linda:

While we are still focused on launching our first collection, we are definitely excited about the future and exploring ideas for a second collection. At this stage, we are in the inspiration and ideation phase, brainstorming and researching to come up with unique and sustainable designs. Our goal is to continue to create versatile pieces that offer both style and comfort for petite women who struggle to find clothing that fits their unique frames!

Siobhan:

I really love the print that I made for you with the idea and concept and especially the colours with the blue shades and the gold colours. Was there a reason why you wanted the print in a blue colour? 

Linda:

Thank you for the compliment on the print, Siobhan! I’m glad to hear that you love it. I also wanted to thank you for your amazing design work on the print. It’s clear that you put a lot of thought and effort into creating something truly unique and beautiful!

The blue shades were specifically chosen because they capture the beauty and majesty of nature that we were inspired by. In particular, the pants were inspired by the shades of blue found in Glacier National Park. As for the gold colors, I feel that they add interest and texture that we don’t often see in a pair of pants. I’m impressed with the design arrangement and can’t wait to see the whole pants in real life!

I hope you enjoyed our interview with Linda! If you’d like to know more about her brand and collection you can follow her brand journey on Instagram or go sign up for her newsletter to be the first to know when pre-orders open for her collection!


If you are a small brand or print buyer and interested in prints for your brand. I invite you to see the section how to work with me. You can also follow work on my Instagram page.

Published by essentialsurface

I am a Textile & Print Designer creating print designs for womenswear. On this blog, I want to give insights on my projects, inspiration, my creative process when I develop prints and collections and help others to break into the textile and print industry with giving helpful tips about print licensing and working Freelance.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started